FFXVI, Sonic Frontiers, Wo Long take Japan Game Awards at TGS 2022


Also, the Mega Man Battle Network Legacy Collection

The Japan Game Awards ceremony took place this past weekend at TGS 2022, and the results are in for the top 10 award-winning games. As a bit of context, each year an organization called the Computer Entertainment Association of Japan doles out awards at TGS, honoring a variety of games from multiple regions.

Here’s the full list of 10 games that won the Future Division category (in no particular order), which quite literally highlights titles that are coming up, and haven’t been released yet:

  • A Space for the Unbound
  • Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty
  • Exoprimal
  • Street Fighter VI
  • Sonic Frontiers
  • Final Fantasy XVI
  • Forspoken
  • Atelier Ryza 3: Alchemist of the End and the Secret Key
  • Like a Dragon: Ishin
  • Mega Man Battle Network Legacy Collection

Note that not all of these games were even playable at TGS, so the award isn’t necessarily tied to quality and hands-on experience.

The two that definitely stand out are Forspoken and Sonic Frontiers, who have had polarizing receptions since their debuts. Exoprimal is also on the “wait and see” list. The rest, to a degree, makes sense. I’ve played the Wo Long demo and can vouch that so far, it looks really promising. With Naoki “Yoshi P” Yoshida on Final Fantasy XVI, things seem to be on track. Street Fighter VI is obviously a darling. Plus, the Mega Man Battle Network Legacy Collection award seems to have lumped in both separate SKUs, which would make it a powerhouse of a re-release.

If you’re interested, the official Tokyo Game Show YouTube account uploaded the entire hour-and-a-half ceremony, which you can watch below.

The full 2022 Japan Game Awards ceremony:

Chris Carter

Reviews Director, Co-EIC – Chris has been enjoying Destructoid avidly since 2008. He finally decided to take the next step, make an account, and start blogging in January of 2009. Now, he’s staff!



Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Samachar Central is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment