Final match of ICC World Cup 2023 scheduled at Ahmedabad on November 19, officially announced

ICC has officially released the schedule for the 2023 ODI World Cup, marking the first time it will be held in India. The announcement was made by ICC CEO Geoff Allardyce and BCCI Secretary Jay Shah, who revealed the list of venues, dates, and fixtures.

The opening match of the 2023 World Cup is set to take place between reigning champions England and 2019 runners-up New Zealand on October 5th in Ahmedabad. India will have their first match against five-time World Cup winners Australia at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on October 8th.

The highly anticipated final of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium on November 19th. The much-awaited clash between India and Pakistan will also be played at the same venue on October 15th.

Pakistan had initially requested BCCI and ICC to move the venue of the India-Pakistan match to Chennai, Bengaluru, or Kolkata. However, both cricketing bodies rejected this demand.

The first semi-final will take place at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on November 15th. The Wankhede Stadium also hosted the final match of the 2011 ODI World Cup between Sri Lanka and India. The second semi-final will be held at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 16th.

The 2023 ODI World Cup will be played across 10 venues, including Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Dharamsala, Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, Bengaluru, Mumbai, and Kolkata. Additionally, warm-up matches will be held in Guwahati, Thiruvananthapuram, and Hyderabad from September 29th to October 3rd.

View Full Image

Full schedule of ICC ODI World Cup 2023 (ICC)

Twelve hosting associations convened in Mumbai on Monday to discuss the details and finalize the venues prior to the official announcement today.

The ODI cricket World Cup 2023 will feature a total of 10 teams, with India and seven other teams already qualifying through the Super League. The remaining two spots will be determined through the Qualifier tournament, which concludes on July 9th.